Ahead of Avengers: Endgame, 21 MCU films decoded chronologically for Marvel junkies & newbies to watch

The biggest franchise of superhero movies in the world is Marvel Cinematic Universe which comprises of 21 feature films spread across different phases. Before the release of the last film in Phase 3, Avengers: Endgame, here are all 21 MCU films decoded for you to binge watch.
Ahead of Avengers: Endgame, 21 MCU films decoded chronologically for Marvel junkies & newbies to watchAhead of Avengers: Endgame, 21 MCU films decoded chronologically for Marvel junkies & newbies to watch
  • 0
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Share on whatsapp

If there is one movie franchise in the world that has managed to garner a lot of fans and still continues to be the biggest phenomena, it is the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The man behind the production of all the 21 films is Kevin Feige from Marvel Studios. All the films made have been based on the Marvel comics. The films have been made according to phases and each of it has a story to tell of a different superhero who collectively can be called as “Avengers”. They all fight to ensure the survival of the human race. Also, every movie is intricately related to the next one.

The three phases are collectively named as ‘Infinity Saga’ and each superhero has his or her own back story. Some of the films like Iron Man and Captain America, The Incredible Hulk and more have been made prior to the others, but if you go according to our list of 21 MCU films, you’ll be able to understand how makers of the films have connected the dots. Right from phase 1 with Captain America to Avengers: Infinity War, all the superheroes are seen overcoming the hurdles thrown at them. 

Marvel Cinematic Universe films have an ensemble cast which includes Robert Downey Jr., Chris Hemsworth, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Evans, Scarlett Johansson, Benedict Cumberbatch, Don Cheadle, Tom Holland, Chadwick Boseman, Paul Bettany, Elizabeth Olsen, Anthony Mackie, Sebastian Stan, Danai Gurira, Letitia Wright, Dave Bautista, Zoe Saldana, Josh Brolin and Chris Pratt. Thus, we bring forth each of the 21 MCU films ahead of Avengers: Endgame for all marvel junkies and newbies to binge-watch. 

Phase 1

The phase 1 is the first part of the Infinity Saga. Even though Iron Man released before Captain America, if we get into the details, the latter will come prior to the former. Captain America is set in the World War II period and sets the base for the superhero concept being introduced to all. Next in line is the recent release Captain Marvel that introduces Marvel’s first ever female superhero. Rest of the films in this phase are in their order and are connected with each other. If you want to understand Marvel Cinematic Universe’s ABC, you can’t miss this phase. As the dialogue from Avengers: Endgame goes, “sometimes you need to go back to the beginning,” Phase 1 is the beginning of Avengers and should not be missed before you get to the last one coming out on April 26, 2019.

List of MCU Phase 1 films:

Captain America: The First Avenger (1943 - 1945)

Captain Marvel (1995)

Iron Man (2010) & Iron Man 2 (2011)

The Incredible Hulk (2011)

Thor (2011)

Avengers (2012)

Phase 2

The Phase 2 is a step ahead of Phase 1 and introduces some very important characters in the MCU like Falcon, Quicksilver, Scarlet Witch, Vision, Ant-Man and the Guardians of the Galaxy comprising of Star Lord, Gamora, Drax the Destroyer, Rocket Raccoon and Groot. It begins with Iron Man 3. These characters become an integral part of the Avengers in the Phase 3’s Avengers: Infinity War as well and hence, their back story is connected with the films. In Captain America, we get to see the concept of Hydra again from Phase 1 where Avengers need to fight them off. However, they end up provoking, artificial intelligence, Ultron in the process. In Avengers: Age Of Ultron, we get to see ‘Vision’ for the first time and the concept of Infinity Stones comes forth. Thus, this phase forms an important base for Phase 3. 

List of MCU Phase 2 films:

Iron Man 3 (2012)

Thor: The Dark World (2013)

Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

Guardians of the Galaxy (2014) & Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2014)

Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)

Ant-Man (2015)

Phase 3
The final phase in the Infinity Saga is 
Phase 3 which begins with Captain America: Civil War which also features Tony Stark and the Avengers fighting each other. However, this phase is chronologically a bit confusing as Doctor Strange starts before
Civil War but finishes after Civil War which brings forth many flashbacks. Also, with so much damage done to the world by Avengers, many viewers are of the opinion that Avengers are doing more harm than good, and thus, this leads to a rift between the Avengers. In Civil War, we get to see Black Panther and his father, but the individual superhero movie came out much later. Also, in this phase, many new superheroes are brought forth like Black Panther, Valkyrie, Spider-Man, Doctor Strange and Mantis. This phase makes everyone see Thanos going after each and every Infinity Stone that there is and how he fights with the Avengers to get all six Infinity Stones. At the end of Avengers: Infinity War, Thanos’ snap wipes out 50 per cent of the world including a few Avengers as well. Now, with the last movie Avengers: Endgame, we can expect to see the remaining Avengers getting together against a common enemy, Thanos to avenge the fallen. 

List of MCU Phase 3 films:

Captain America: Civil War (2016)

Spider-Man: Homecoming (2016)

Doctor Strange (2016 - 2017)

Black Panther (2017)

Thor: Ragnarok (2017)

Ant-Man and The Wasp (2017)

Avengers Infinity War (2017)

Avengers: Endgame (2019)

Worried that Avengers: Endgame maybe the last MCU film? Well, not really! Marvel is coming up with at least 10 different projects in the coming time including Spider Man: Far From Home, Doctor Strange 2 and more. So, get ready to binge-watch on all MCU films before Avengers: Endgame which will release on April 26, 2019. 

Also Read: Avengers: Endgame: 5 Movies to binge watch before the mega MCU film

"Stay in sync with the latest and hottest" & "SUBSCRIBE TO PINKVILLA"

Add new comment