Fabulous Lives of Bollywood Wives Ep 1 Review: The husbands steal the show in this crème de la crème bingefest

Fabulous Lives of Bollywood Wives Ep 1 Review: While Neelam Kothari Soni, Maheep Kapoor, Seema Khan and Bhavana Pandey welcome us 'in' to their houses, the most real and entertaining aspect about this over the top reality show are the husbands!
Fabulous Lives of Bollywood Wives Ep 1 Review: The husbands steal the show in this crème de la crème bingefest
  • 31
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Share on whatsapp

Fabulous Lives of Bollywood Wives

Fabulous Lives of Bollywood Wives Cast: Neelam Kothari Soni, Maheep Kapoor, Seema Khan, Bhavana Pandey

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Neelam (@neelamkotharisoni)

While the 'real' housewives of 'whatever' state in the US have, for years, provided fodder for binge-watchers to chomp on for hours and hours, four popular B-town wives chose the glamorous route in the latest Netflix India outing, Fabulous Lives of Bollywood Wives. Starring Neelam Kothari Soni, Maheep Kapoor, Seema Khan and Bhavana Pandey, the viewers finally get to be the fly on celebs' expensive walls as they share their trials and tribulations, stemming from a 20+ year friendship.

Judging by the trailer in itself, we knew for certain how 'real' the reality series was bound to be and after watching the premiere episode, I can rightfully say that the four women are no Kim Kardashian. While Kim has almost lived her own adulthood being surrounded by cameras and eventually getting comfortable with it, like a second skin, Neelam, Maheep, Seema and Bhavana are heavily conscious about well, being watched. The most crackling of characters from the foursome is the rambunctious Seema, who adds a diverse flavour from the say, a prim and proper Neelam or Maheep. Even Bhavana has her moments, especially during her interaction with husband Chunky Panday and daughter Ananya Panday, where you sense normalcy in the family environment.

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A post shared by Seema Khan (@seemakhan76)

With the central focus of Ep 1 on Sanjay Kapoor and Maheep's daughter Shanaya Kapoor's appearance at the prestigious le Bal in Paris, the four women meet up at Maheep and Sanjay's house to bid farewell to the trio as they jet-set to Europe. During their conversation, the staged feeling was prominent with the saving grace being Sanjay with his Punjabi munda attitude. Even Chunky was his usual entertaining self while Samir had his moment while rehearsing for a seedy script given to Neelam as a potential acting comeback. When it comes to Seema and Sohail Khan, we sense slight friction which is hinted at in the first episode and would probably be delved into in the coming episodes.

Nonetheless, the tea is piping hot and the addictive qualities are very much intact with Fabulous Lives of Bollywood Wives. Given that it hits close to home and hasn't been frequented often, there's a tantalising appeal to the reality show. And, the makers know that what the audience wants is a taste into the lives of rich and famous. Hence, the ending credits for the next few episodes feature big cameos by the likes of Gauri Khan, Arjun Kapoor, Jhanvi Kapoor, Malaika Arora and more.

ALSO READ: Karan Johar showers love on cast of Fabulous Lives of Bollywood Wives, says he's quite 'exhilarated' for them

While the over the top nature of Fabulous Lives of Bollywood Wives may be a bit squeamish to watch at times, you won't be able to just stop at one episode. Excuse me while I virtually mingle with the crème de la crème of Bollywood with their couture dresses, Paris trips and plenty of champagne!

Anonymous 2 months ago

aargh. Hello Bollywood. wake up, make something with real substance- any kind - commercial, comedy, horror, drama, romance anything. But have a plot and good dialogues. Masaba Masaba was pretty well made, as the closest comparison to this show. why we liked it- it seemed real without being whiny or showing off.

Anonymous 2 months ago

Tried 20 minutes of it but it was sooo BORING and scripted.. nothing natural, the people, the situation, made you appreciate how the real housewives series is so much better than this. Probably the worst series in Netflix - I thought Indian matchmaking was bad, this takes the cake. UGH!

Anonymous 2 months ago

I am so embarassed for Karan. Ladka itna bada ho gaya, abhi tak akal nahi aya! He is as shallow as a puddle after an afternoon drizzle even at his age. I don't hold it against the women for jumping at the chance, as most of them have not so great careers, bar Neelam, who is a successful business woman, and a true lady. I am sure Karan instructed them to act so cringey. The offsprings trying so desperately to make it in showbiz are so average, a lot are below average and downright strange looking. One thing I found refreshing that most of these women are just normal everyday women living regular lives, despite Karan trying to impose their "fabulousity" on us. PV please post, thank you.

Anonymous 2 months ago

Should have been named "desperately wanna-be bollywood wives" or "bollywood-pretend wives"

Anonymous 2 months ago

I TOTALLY LOVE THE SHOW, ITS AAAA MAAAAAXING. DONT KNOW WHY INDIAN ILLITERATE AUDIENCE ARE ALWAYS AGAINST THESE BOLLYWOOD FAMILIES. WOULD WANT TO SEE KAREENA, MALIKA,AMRITA AND KARISHMA IN A SHOW TOOO. BEST OF BOLLYWOOD LOVE IT NEPOTISM ROCKS. PV YOU BETTER POST THIS, FOREVER DHARMA FAN

Anonymous 2 months ago

I lasted 2 episodes of this embarrasing cringe fest. Maheep is a diva with a big mouth (you can see where Sonam got it from), Seema claims her marriage is good but also says her husband "stopped by"?? The kids don't speak Hindi? Can someone explain to me how that works? The best part was where they introduced Malaika as Seema's "friend" instead of former sister in law.

Anonymous 2 months ago

It is a dull-witted show and a big waste of time and money. Netflixindia are definitely lacking creativity. There are a lot of paid promotions going on right now most of them are handled by fake accounts on social media. But this will not change the fact that the show is trashy even if you put srk at the last episode to attract his fans to watch it. Wondering how he was convinced to take part on such nosense, probably just to promote his wife and what they called design

Anonymous 2 months ago

Amazing! Glad to see something glamorous coming from India. It’s not just White people that are rich

Anonymous 2 months ago

No superlative is enough! this is a piece of T R A S H. This perfectly mirrors KJo, his mediocrity, and deep affinity for gossip! Really Netflix India is becoming a trash under Bullywood influence.

Anonymous 2 months ago

its Karan's way of showing their privileged world. Honestly its so average...so so meh.

Anonymous 2 months ago

Completely ripped off from the housewives series in America.

Anonymous 2 months ago

So freaking PRETENTIOUS!!!!!!

Anonymous 2 months ago

Will give it a watch. Have always liked Neelam, she was this sweet heroine doing cheesy movies with Govinda when I was a very little girl. Now as a grown up with my own family, it brings back good memories seeing her, also how well she has maintained herself!

Anonymous 2 months ago

This was embarrassing to watch!!! What were they thinking to sign up for this bullsh****!!!

Anonymous 2 months ago

Apart from neelam they dont seem likeable somethings are best kept in the west. I would like to see in the cast sussane roshan ghuri khan the actually bollywood wives gang

Anonymous 2 months ago

This show is Karan Johar's way of showing how much the Kapoors and Khans and ofcourse Ananya Pandey has struggled. And neelam ? She should really do 1 of those "many offers" she is getting

Anonymous 2 months ago

Gosh this show in 2 episodes gave me a headache!!!! It is so trash that Karan Johar should apologize. But he is no Aamir Khan to have that audacity

Anonymous 2 months ago

What a terrible show. These women have no identity beyond their husbands and being part of Gauri Khan's circle. Overprivileged women who are most likely raising badly, behaved brats. They all seem to have dysfunctional marriages and relationships with their children. Why is this being glorified?

Anonymous 2 months ago

You forgot that comment on nepotism. So much they have struggled.

Anonymous 2 months ago

This show is not for judging it’s full on women’s entertainment show. I think they have done fabulous job and they are so much better than their husbands on screen. Ladies, you nailed it. great job waiting for season 2. Love you all

Anonymous 2 months ago

Great to have creative minds create all sorts of movies from India. Keep going Karan Johar and let your creativity flow and not stopped by these nasty online comments. Spread positivity and create more jobs for people and keep improvising your art! Best of Luck!

Anonymous 2 months ago

Thanks Alia

Anonymous 2 months ago

I find this majorly wrong. All the husbands have had bad if not horribly sorry careers. All the women (except Neelam) have basically done nothing with their lives. What's there to glorify about this? Netflix USA makes the Queen's Gambit, and here we are !

Anonymous 2 months ago

But the show is called bollywood wives. They've attached themselves to their flop husbands. Why not call it bombay ladies or something with no connection to their husbands

Anonymous 2 months ago

The women have done something, Maheep has her jewelery business, Seema and Bhavana clothing store. They could have sat at home.

Anonymous 2 months ago

lol wanna be hollywood wives !! Look at your audience before you make a show.

Anonymous 2 months ago

same old same old ppl

Anonymous 2 months ago

Wow the biggest gossipy diva KJO must be jissing all over his pants, this is exactly the stuff his dreams are made of

Anonymous 2 months ago

This show is sooo bad.... i mean how can these people be termed as Bollywood wives when their husbands are all flops!!!! Disappointed that Neelam participated in this

Anonymous 2 months ago

chunky Pandey was pretty famous in his. days

Anonymous 2 months ago

Neelam was a Bollywood herself who was quite adored. Who knows what was pitched to her.