Amidst major backlash, Game of Thrones showrunners David Benioff & DB Weiss back out from Comic Con 2019

Game of Thrones showrunners have backed out from appearing at San Diego Comic-Con 2019 along with director Miguel Sapochnik, Iain Glen (Jorah Mormont) and Nathalie Emmanuel (Missandei of Naath). Read below to know why this decision was made at the last moment.
Game of Thrones recently broke an Emmy record by scoring 32 nominations for season 8.Game of Thrones recently broke an Emmy record by scoring 32 nominations for season 8.
  • 0
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Share on whatsapp

At San Diego Comic-Con 2019, fans will get to pay tribute and bid farewell to the cult series, Game of Thrones. Amidst much backlash for season 8, which marked the end of GOT, it came as a surprise to many that the showrunners David Benioff and D.B. Weiss were amongst the confirmed list of attendees at Hall H for the Game of Thrones panel. Along with them would be director Miguel Sapochnik, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Maisie Williams, Isaac Hempstead Wright, John Bradley West, Liam Cunnigham, Conleth Hill, Iain Glen, Raleigh Ritchie and Nathalie Emmanuel.

However, according to a tweet by the official handle of GOT, David and Dan have backed out from appearing at Hall H. Along with then, Miguel, Iain, who we know as Jorah Mormont and Nathalie, who we know as Missandei of Naath, will not be appearing at Comic-Con either. HBO revealed that the reason behind their absence was attributed to production and schedule conflicts, according to Variety. The tweet reads as, "The #GoTSDCC panel taking place Friday, 7/19 at 5:30 PM in Hall H will now consist of panelists @Maisie_Williams, @RaleighRitchie, @nikolajcw, @isaac_h_wright, @johnbradleywest, @liamcunningham1 & Conleth Hill."

San Diego Comic-Con 2019 would have been the first appearance by the Game of Thrones showrunners post the season 8 finale in May 2019.

ALSO READ: Sophie Turner REACTS to Emmy Nomination for Game of Thrones: This is the best farewell to the show

Meanwhile, D&D earned Emmy nominations for writing GOT Season 8 Episode 6, The Iron Throne. Game of Thrones made history as the final season earned a record-breaking 32 nominations which included acting nominations for Kit Harington, Emila Clarke, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Peter Dinklage, Alfie Allen, Gwendoline Christie, Lena Headey, Sophie Turner, Maisie Williams and Carice van Houten.

Add new comment