India vs New Zealand toss update, World Cup 2019: New Zealand wins toss, elected to bat first

Both sides have made one change each for the crucial semi-final in the World Cup 2019
India vs New  Zealand toss update, World Cup 2019: New Zealand wins toss, elected to bat firstIndia vs New Zealand, World Cup 2019: Toss update
  • 0
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Share on whatsapp

All eyes were on the clouds as fans were gearing up for the semis between India and New Zealand. With 50% chance of rain for the game, there was a huge chance of the match getting abandoned, but rains stayed away, as New Zealand won the toss and chose to bat first. 

Despite the strong cloud cover, the pitch at Manchester looks dry and fresh, and the Kiwis opted to put runs on the board and cause pressure on their rivals. 

New Zealand and India both have made one change each - Lockie Ferguson in for Tim Southee, and Yuzvendra Chahal for Kuldeep Yadav. 

What the captains had to say:

Williamson: We're going to have a bat. It looks like a good surface. We have played a number of games here. A toss-up with the overheads, but it'll be around all day, so we need to get the job done first up. We are used to the routine, but we have to start afresh after the round robin we have a great opportunity to put up a good performance against a side like India. Ferguson comes in for Southee.

Kohli: We would've batted first. Fresh wicket, nice and hard, and not moist. A bit of rain around as well, the ball will get wet as the game goes on. It could remain decent throughout the game. It's going to remain similar throughout the course of the game - we have done well in Manchester. We have had two good games in Manchester, and it's about focussing on the basics. We need to remember why we are in the semis. Chahal comes back in for Kuldeep Yadav.

NZ: Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham(w), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Trent Boult

India: Lokesh Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli(c), Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni(w), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

Add new comment