Sadak 2 Review: Sanjay Dutt, Alia Bhatt and Aditya Roy Kapur's bumpy ride will leave you carsick

Sadak 2 might have the elements of the 90s movies but it lacks the charm of the 1991 movie. The movie is all over the place and makes you wonder why it was made in the first place.
Sadak 2 Review: Sanjay Dutt, Alia Bhatt and Aditya Roy Kapur's bumpy ride will leave you carsickSadak 2 Review: Sanjay Dutt, Alia Bhatt and Aditya Roy Kapur's bumpy ride will leave you carsick
  • 49
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Share on whatsapp

Movie Name: Sadak 2

Sadak 2 Cast: Sanjay Dutt, Alia Bhatt and Aditya Roy Kapur

Sadak 2 Director: Mahesh Bhatt

Sadak 2 Stars: 1.5/5 

Before we proceed with the review, we want to warn that there might be details that might trigger readers. 

Another weekend, another movie in the theatre. Correction: Home theatre. As we know, several Bollywood movies are opting to skip the theatres and heading directly on the home screen. One of the many movies that have hit the small screen is Sadak 2. The sequel to the 1991 movie, Sadak, the Mahesh Bhatt directorial retains the OG lead Sanjay Dutt while giving him two new-age stars, Alia Bhatt and Aditya Roy Kapur, for company. Like the original movie, Sadak 2 keeps the spotlight on Sanjay Dutt's Ravi Kishore. 

In Sadak 2, Ravi loses his lady love Pooja (Pooja Bhatt) in an accident. He finds it difficult to come to terms with the loss and seeks ways to end his life. While Ravi is suicidal, he is also hallucinating about Pooja. Amid his troubles, he crosses paths with Aaraya (Alia Bhatt), who had made a booking through Pooja for Kailash. After several refusals, Aaraya convinces him to take up his wife's last booking and they take off on the journey. 

While Ravi deals with his loss, Aaraya opens up to the stranger about being labeled mentally unstable. During the journey, she reveals the sole heir to her family's estate. She talks about her mother's death, whom she blames a godman for and is waging war against him. We also meet her boyfriend, Vishal (Aditya Roy Kapur), and given a glimpse of their love story. Together, the trio takes a road trip filled with twists and deadly turns which eventually reaches a bittersweet destination. 

Simple story, right? Well, not so simple execution. Mahesh Bhatt sits on the director's chair after two decades and unfortunately, he still has the 90s' tinted glasses on. Sadak 2 looks like a revamped version of a 90s masala movie that makes absolutely no sense. We revisit the formula of a greedy family attempting to kill Aaraya for her estate, owls helping in fighting a bad man, a hero who has been beaten up, stabbed and shot still holding on to his will to fight. If that isn't enough 90s, we have Gulshan Grover as the ultimate bad man. 

Sadak 2 has too many elements scattered across the storyboard. The movie starts off as though it is going to shed some light on mental illness. But the movie loses track. To top it off, the random placement of twists acts as a hurdle in the narration. The movie gets so convoluted that you start to wonder, what is the point of the movie? Although the narrative is flawed, Sanjay drives through the bumps smoothly. The actor puts his best foot forward and carries the movie on his shoulder with ease. His bond with the invisible Pooja makes Alia and Aditya's chemistry fall flat. His on-screen bond with Alia also helps the movie to move forward. However, Alia doesn't reciprocate at all occasions. 

Alia is a brilliant performer with Udta Punjab and Highway to her credit. But she falls short in Sadak 2. Alia delivers two monologues in the movie but both lack the conviction. Aditya's performance is unsteady as well. While he starts off well, he is sidelined by Alia and Sanjay making him almost invisible after a point. Vishesh Films have been known for their music and Sadak 2 does not live up to that either. 

Bottom Line: Sadak 2 revisits the 90s formula and packages it with a new wrapper that no one asked for. Having grown up watching Sadak, Zakhm, and Naam, Sadak 2 comes a sheer disappointment. 

ALSO READ: Director Hansal Mehta tweets in support of his mentor Mahesh Bhatt's film Sadak 2

Download the Pinkvilla App for latest Bollywood & Entertainment news, hot celebrity photos, lifestyle articles, fashion & beauty news,Hollywood, K-Drama etc . Click here
Anonymous 2 months ago

I’m genuinely confused, anyone help me please. What do Deepika and Katrina have to do with this?

Anonymous 2 months ago

Hahaha karma you snakes

Anonymous 2 months ago

What's wrong with Bollywood? Keeping aside Nepotism, favoritism etc. debate for a moment, we can't understand why they are upto runing their own good work like Sadak, Love Aaj Kaal? Why is this creative bankruptcy??

Anonymous 2 months ago

Very happy because now their struggling is real ! They know now what outsiders are living every day ! Get a life and continue support mediocrity !

Anonymous 2 months ago

Uglia ur over now

Anonymous 2 months ago

Dekha audience ka power .Ab pata chalega chuhe tjhe .Buddhe mahesh sadak chaap kagi ka

Anonymous 2 months ago

Maybe this is DP or her stupid fans who are saying bad about kat .DP jake apne chipkoo husband ko smbhal aur ranbir alia ke pass jara hai depression mein mat chali jaio

Anonymous 2 months ago

Yeh toh bas hsuruwat hai .Tu toh gaya short below average ugly man alia

Anonymous 2 months ago

garbage

Anonymous 2 months ago

Mahesh you are mentally unstable so are your gfs alia and shaheen .,Now both will go in depression as they have become sadak chaap .hahahaha

Anonymous 2 months ago

Hahahahah.sadak chaap ban gaye kya

Anonymous 2 months ago

Lol hahaha expected XD

Anonymous 2 months ago

Well done, netizens. Next target - Khaali Peeli that has two nepo kids Ishaan Khattar and brainless Ananya Pandey. Let's dismantle the Bollywood that has always served these Bollywood families and suck-ups like Deepika Padukone and Ranveer Singh.

Anonymous 2 months ago

Alia said nepo kids get an easy entry into Bollywood with their first role and after that they are just like outsiders. One flop and they are not given any more opportunities just like the outsiders. Alia has given two back-to-back flops - Kalank and now Sadak2. According to her own logic, no more roles for her. Goodbye, nepokid. I hope we never see you again.

Anonymous 2 months ago

Hahahah LOL I expected this XD

Anonymous 2 months ago

IMDB Rating 1.1. Made sure i gave 1 star even though it deserved 0.5 star! No more Nepo movies!!

Anonymous 2 months ago

Deepika stop attacking Katrina and Kangana and Just stop doing Jihaad in all the comments section.

Anonymous 2 months ago

Well deserved

Anonymous 2 months ago

Alia now kindly get off your high horse. We will boycott all your movies. We don’t need average face gals hyped with PR

Anonymous 2 months ago

Kapoors will never marry Katrina so she should kiss Sanjay dutt and marry him.

Anonymous 2 months ago

Chup Kr DP

Anonymous 2 months ago

Sanjay dutt will marry Katrina Kaif and produce beautiful babies with her.

Anonymous 2 months ago

Sanjay dutt is the perfect husband for Katrina Kaif.

Anonymous 2 months ago

ranbir tere hath nahi ayega Deepika

Anonymous 2 months ago

As far as I can see, this movie sucks with or without the SSR case bringing it hate. Bad outdated storyline and bad direction. Why does bollywood spend so much money to make bad films over and over, I will never understand.

Anonymous 2 months ago

Mrs Katrina Sanjay dutt

Anonymous 2 months ago

Sanjay dutt weds Katrina kaif

Anonymous 2 months ago

I feel sad for a Sick person who is so worried about Katrina. Every post there is a comment for Kat filled with Hatred. lol PV post it

Anonymous 2 months ago

You’re complaining for people bringing Katrina into every pv comment section, and yes I agree, I don’t understand what Katrina has to do with any of this. But bringing Deepika into this is what you’re fighting against when defending Katrina. You’re being nothing less than a hypocrite. So if ur going to defend Katrina don’t do the same thing to someone else in the process

Anonymous 2 months ago

Must be DP or alia.They are super jealous of kat .kat is best .

Anonymous 2 months ago

Yes I don't get it. Why is she brought into every post. So random and some pathetic graceless troll.

Anonymous 2 months ago

To the one below, Mahesh Bhatt should not quit, ur evil guru Kangana should quit Bollywood along with all you haters. I know you all.ate paid by her for ur stupid comments. We are all sick of her bullying, hate and lies. Shame on her and in you all.

Anonymous 2 months ago

hattt beyt

Anonymous 2 months ago

Bhatts are finished ! Congratulations everyone !!

Anonymous 2 months ago

This comment is paid by KR Team. Congratulation to all the employed people who were once unemployed.

Anonymous 2 months ago

How come Alia's bad performance gets overshadowed with her good ones. I never see this treatment with other actors. You reviewers still overhype her despite her being unworthy of praise. She is a medicore performer, and until you'all admit that...BW will not be going anywhere in terms of talent

Anonymous 2 months ago

Lol the most disliked trailer plz boycott the movie # justice for ssr

Anonymous 2 months ago

Alia's karma: kalank 2, soty2 and now sadak 2's failure

Anonymous 2 months ago

All haters here are paid by evil witch Kangana . Disgusting.

Anonymous 2 months ago

I think you are mentally disturbed ! Let’s Kangana be what she is it’s not you problem ! We don’t need money to wake up to the dirty world of bullywood ! So just let us our freedom !!!!

Anonymous 2 months ago

I live in Europe Lol Kangana didn’t pay me !!!! We are free if we want to boycott and not support nepokids and injustices it’s not your problem ! Get lost and stand for mediocrity !!!

Anonymous 2 months ago

getlost with your crapy movie

Anonymous 2 months ago

Rubbish movie...

Anonymous 2 months ago

Not interested

Anonymous 2 months ago

Time for her to get down from the high horse to ground reality. Can't wait for a similar treatment for Brahmastra! The nepo kids especially Alia deserves it!

Anonymous 2 months ago

It is so true.

Anonymous 2 months ago

Sanjay dutt plz marry Katrina Kaif and produce babies with her no one is marrying her.

Anonymous 2 months ago

Sanjay dutt is on 4th stage cancer. Have some shame

Anonymous 2 months ago

End of nepo kids’ filmy career. Yay!!

Pinkvilla has updated its Privacy and Cookie policy. We use cookies to improve your experience on our site and show you Personalized advertisement.

Options

Pinkvilla has updated its Privacy and Cookie policy. We use cookies to improve your experience on our site and show you Personalized advertisement