Rookie K Pop groups that are gearing up to be the next big thing, feat TRI.BE and Ciipher

Updated on May 20, 2021 11:11 AM IST  |  417K
TRI.BE is a seven-member girl group.
TRI.BE is a seven-member girl group (Pic credit - TR Entertainment and Universal Music Group)

K-pop is growing by leaps and bounds and with the rapid globalisation, Korean music is reaching fans at every nook and corner in this world. With increased exposure, comes the tremendous pressure to stand out, especially when the competition is so intense! Every year new K-pop groups debut hoping to make a mark in the industry and the music world, however, only a few successfully make a mark. We take a look at 5 K Pop groups that are gearing up to be the next big thing.


tri, short for Triangle Being, is a South Korean girl group formed in 2021 by TR Entertainment and Universal Music Group. The group consists of seven members: Songsun, Kelly, Jinha, Hyunbin, Jia, Soeun and Mire. debuted in February 2021, with their single album Da Loca. You should check out their song DOOM DOOM TA.

2. Ciipher


Ciipher is a boy group created by South Korean singer Rain under R.A.I.N. Company. The group consists of Tan, Hwi, Hyunbin, Keita, Tag, Dohwan and Won. The group debuted on March 15, 2021, with the extended play (EP) An Ggulyeo. If you want to start stanning Ciipher, I Like You is a great song to start with.



Also called PURPLE K!SS, is a 7-member girl group under RBW Entertainment. The group consists of Park Jieun, Na Goeun, Dosie, Ireh, Yuki, Chaein and Swan. They released a pre-debut single on November 26, 2020 and a second one on February 3, 2021. They debuted in March 15, 2021 with the title track Ponzona. Their debut title track, Ponzona is a good way to become a fan of PURPLE KISS.



LIGHTSUM is an 8 member pre-debut girl group under Cube Entertainment. The lineup consists of Sangah, Chowon, Nayoung, Hina, Juhyeon, Yujeong, Huiyeon and Jian. They are all set to debut in May.

5. T1419


MOMOLAND's adorable little brothers, T1419 is the new boy group to watch out for. They are signed under the agency MLD Entertainment. They consist of 9 members: Noa, Sian, Kevin, Gunwoo, Leo, On, Zero, Kairi and Kio. They released a pre-debut single titled, Dracula on October 27, 2020. They debuted on January 11th, 2021 with their first single album BEFORE SUNRISE Part. 1. Their pre-debut release, Dracula is a good introduction to this talented group.

ALSO READ: TRI.BE on their love for BLACKPINK & EXID and Girls’ Generation Yuri’s reaction to DOOM DOOM TA MV

Which one of the groups you are excited to watch? Share your thoughts with Pinkvilla in the comments below.


Anonymous : Na Go Eun Ireh Swan Yuki Dosie Chaein Ji eun
REPLY 0 4 months ago
Anonymous : Purple kiss on bloody top
REPLY 0 4 months ago