World Cup 2019 final umpire Dharmasena admits he made error by awarding England six runs instead of five

Dharmasena awarded six runs after an overthrow went for four and the batters had taken two in the final over of the tense World Cup 2019 final. However, it should have been five as the batters had not yet crossed over when the ball was thrown by the fielder.
World Cup 2019 2019 umpire Kumar Dharmasena admits he made error by awarding England six runs instead of fiveWorld Cup 2019 2019 umpire Kumar Dharmasena admits he made error by awarding England six runs instead of five
  • 0
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Share on whatsapp

Sri Lanka's Kumar Dharmasena, who was the umpire in the World Cup 2019 final and awarded England six runs after the freak overthrow in the last over, has admitted that he made a mistake and should have instead awarded five runs. A throw that was directed towards the stumps by a New Zealand fielder deflected off the bat of Ben Stokes and raced away for four runs, even as the batsmen were completing their second run. 

Before the ball, England needed nine to win off three, but the two runs coupled with four overthrows reduced the equation to three off two balls. It helped the hosts tie the game, and the match went into the Super Over that was again tied. England eventually won due to boundary count. 

However, the result could have been different had Dharmasena been more alert and awarded five runs and not six off the overthrows. Former umpire Simon Taufel had earlier stated that England should have been given five runs as the batsman had not crossed for the second run when the ball was thrown. 

Dharmasena agreed and stated that he had made a mistake. 

"I agree that there was an error of judgement when I see it on TV replays now," Dharmasena, who was umpiring the final with South Africa's Marais Erasmus, told the local Sunday Times.

"But we did not have the luxury of TV replays at the ground and I do not regret the decision I made."

The Sri Lankan had, however, had consulted his on-field umpire before making the decision. 

 "So, I did consult the leg umpire (Erasmus) through the communication system which is heard by all other umpires and the match referee," he told the newspaper.

"While they cannot check TV replays, they all confirmed that the batsmen have completed the second run. This is when I made my decision."

Add new comment