Quinton de Kock named captain of South Africa's T20I team ahead of tour to India

After facing West Indies, India's next assignment will be against South Africa from September 15
Quinton de Kock named captain of South Africa's T20I team ahead of tour to IndiaQuinton de Kock named captain of South Africa's T20I team ahead of tour to India
  • 0
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Share on whatsapp

South Africa have named three uncapped players in their Test side for the three-match series against India that will start from early October. It will be the first Test series that the South Africans will play after the retirement of Dale Steyn andd Hashim Amla. 

Fast bowler Anrich Nortje, wicket-keeper Rudi Second and all-rounder Senuran Muthusamy have been included in the 15-member team that will be led by Faf du Plessis. 

The side will be led by interim team director Enoch Nkwe, who replaces outgoing coach Ottis Gibson. 

"All three newcomers to the test side have more than earned their spurs through impressive performances in last season's Four-Day Franchise competition," Cricket South Africa Acting Director of Cricket Corrie van Zyl said.

"We feel we have covered all the options for the conditions we are likely to encounter on the sub-continent with (spinners) Muthusamy and Dane Piedt, who was far and away the leading wicket-taker in our Four-Day competition, providing the back-up to Keshav Maharaj," he added in a media release.

Van Zyl also announced that the T20I squad for series against India, which will precede the Tests, will not include du Plessis, with Quinton de Kock leading the team. 

"The T20 Series gives us the last chance to have a look at our leadership and batting options as the next edition of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup is now little more than a year away, which is why we have gone with an inexperienced leadership group," Van Zyl said.

"I would like to stress that Faf du Plessis remains an important part of our plans for white-ball cricket."

The T20I series will start on September 15, with the Test following from October 2.

Test squad: Faf du Plessis (Titans, capt), Temba Bavuma (Highveld Lions, vice-capt), Theunis de Bruyn (Titans), Quinton de Kock (Titans), Dean Elgar (Titans), Zubayr Hamza (Cape Cobras), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), Aiden Markram (Titans), Senuran Muthusamy (Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Titans), Anrich Nortje (Warriors), Vernon Philander (Cape Cobras), Dane Piedt (Cape Cobras), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), Rudi Second (Warriors).

Twenty20 squad: Quinton de Kock (Titans, capt), Rassie van der Dussen (Highveld Lions, vice-capt), Temba Bavuma (Highveld Lions), Junior Dala (Titans), Bjorn Fortuin (Highveld Lions), Beuran Hendricks (Highveld Lions), Reeza Hendricks (Highveld Lions), David Miller (Dolphins), Anrich Nortje (Warriors), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Dwaine Pretorius (Highveld Lions), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans), Jon-Jon Smuts (Warriors)

Add new comment