World Cup 2019 final overthrow that went for four after hitting Stokes' bat to be reviewed in September

The ball had raced away for a four after hitting the bat of England's Ben Stokes accidentally in the World Cup 2019 final against New Zealand.
World Cup 2019 final overthrow that went for four after hitting Stokes' bat to be reviewed in SeptemberWorld Cup 2019 final overthrow that went for four after hitting Stokes' bat to be reviewed in September
  • 0
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Share on whatsapp

The World Cup 2019 final is still fresh in minds. The heartbreak that New Zealand faced despite tying both the 50-over and the Super Over is still talked about, witth fans finding it unfair that the Kiwis lost the game after such a brilliant showing. 

Another controversial incident during the game was the overthrows that went for a four in the final over of the clash between England and New Zealand. With nine runs needed in the last three balls, Martin Guptill's throw from the deep hit batsman Ben Stokes' bat, and the ball raced away for a four. Six runs in total were awarded (two for the runs taken, and four for the overthrows) as the equation reduced to three in two balls. This immensely reduced the pressure on the hosts, as they managed to tie the game. The Super Over too saw both teams score identical runs, but England won the game due to boundary count.

The overthrow rules now have caught the attention of the MCC, and they discussed Law 19.8, which is concerned about overthrows, in their meeting at London that was held during the weekend. 

"The WCC (World Cricket Committee) discussed Law 19.8 in relation to overthrows, in the context of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup Final. WCC felt that the Law was clear but the matter will be reviewed by the Laws sub-committee in September 2019," the MCC said in a statement.

Sourav Ganguly, who is also a member of the MCC, could not attend the meeting as his mother is unwell.

Add new comment