It’s Okay To Not Be Okay faces criticism over 'sexual harassing' scene; KCSC gets 50 complaints about the show

Fans of It’s Okay To Not Be Okay are appreciating the series for shedding light on different mental health ailments. However, a few scenes from Kim Soo-hyun and Seo Ye-ji's new drama have not gone down well with viewers.
It’s Okay To Not Be Okay faces criticism over 'sexual harassing' scene; KCSC gets 50 complaints about the showIt’s Okay To Not Be Okay faces criticism over 'sexual harassing' scene; KCSC gets 50 complaints about the show
  • 75
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Share on whatsapp

International fans are applauding Kim Soo-hyun and Seo Ye-ji's new drama It’s Okay To Not Be Okay for its attempt to shed light on mental health awareness. With just four episodes down, the tvN drama has already sparked the conversation about different mental health illness. However, It’s Okay To Not Be Okay finds itself in a controversy after the third episode featured a few scenes that did not go down well with audiences in South Korea and a few international viewers. 

The third episode of It’s Okay To Not Be Okay featured Kim Soo-hyun's Moon Kang-tae standing shirtless in the locker room/hospital's changing room when Seo Ye-ji's Ko Moon-young barges into the changing room and reaches out to the character's washboard abs. While the scene left many fans gushing, a few fans did not appreciate that the onscreen writer touched the caregiver without his consent. 

In another scene, Ko Moon-young expressed her wish to sleep with Moon Kang-tae. The bold scene has also left everyone talking. Viewers have also spoken up against Kwak Dong Yeon's cameo character Kwon Ki Do flashing in the scene. 

Viewers took to THEQOO and Twitter to deem the scene "sexual harassment." Via Koreaboo, a viewer, writing on THEQOO, said, "The entire scene about the hair being sexually arousing… LMAO. I really can’t even deal with how much harassment is overlooked as humor.” Another comment read, "All of these scene are problematic indeed. I can’t believe some of you are trying to side with the show… Look how forgiving we are when it comes to sexual harassment, huh?”

While viewers are pointing out the scene, there are a few speaking up against the backlash. 

As the online debate continues, the Korea Communications Standards Commission (KCSC) has received over 50 complaints regarding the show as of Monday (29/6) after. As reported by MoneyS via Naver, a representative revealed these complaints have been with regard to the sexual content appearing in the third episode. 

Do you think the makers went too far with the elements of the third episode? Let us know your opinions in the comments below. 

Stay updated with the latest entertainment,fashion and lifestyle news. Get our Newsletter

Anonymous 3 days ago

sokor nets want hardcore

Anonymous 1 week ago

I think people are too bored or idle to pick up series and make debate out of everything. It's not a documentary, it's not a news report. Its fiction, take it in light sense guys! The scene which so many are pointing out as sexual harrassment, have you really watched the series? Have you really understood what the series is dealing with ? If it was harassment, his character would have expressed disgust or revolted back. The series isn't that! If you don't find it entertaining or fun enough, look for something else rather than spilling hatred. I think the leads did commendable act in that scene! Even for Kwak song Yeon, he pulled off brilliantly.

Anonymous 1 week ago

I love this show, it is just entertaining and deals with some issues that people never talk about. Great actors what is wrong with people this days? What about the violence you see in many of the shows, or family violence, I can go on and on. Just watch a show that will entertain you and leave the others for the people that will be entertaining by them. KS-H and SY-J, great acting.

Anonymous 1 week ago

True, Moon Young’s behavior is not socially accepted, but it’s not to the point where people should make a controversy out of it. Most viewers would be able to discern right and wrong from her action without making a big fuss, so I don’t think the controversy is completely pointless. There is no need to bash the producer when clearly he has put in a lot of effort to make the drama shines. To be honest, I couldn’t take the scene seriously, it was hilarious. I appreciate the sexual tension and comedy. Clearly, We knew the male lead feels attracted to the female lead; it’s not like some stranger barged into the changing room for no god damn reason.

Anonymous 1 week ago

Good luck

Anonymous 1 week ago

Only when a drama has this much hype is when people start coming up with absurd complaints

Anonymous 1 week ago

(to the haters) okay then what about in many dramas the male lead kisses the female lead forcefully, is it not sexual assault? doesn't that come under it? but then yall be like rooting for them, you don't bark but now when you see this scene you all go barking.

Anonymous 1 week ago

I think people should look into boys over flowers. A lot of abusive acts were over looked

Anonymous 1 week ago

okay first of all, this is just a drama not a real life. we arent supporting sexual harassment definitely but lets be practical its just drama it didn't happen in real life. know the difference between drama and reality. this drama is too good and i love how it represents how their past affects their mental health. their acting is perfect.

Anonymous 1 week ago

Due to the that is a movie, any depiction of sexual or physical activity is, in my opinion, only add to character, and explains the empalsive nature of one experiencing a type of disorder My main concern is the pause between the episodes.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

For Pete's sake, it's just DRAMA. The producers didn't say you do it in real life! The problem with escapism and watching too much TV is that people think it's applicable to real life. They interchange drama to real life. Listen, if the character shoot a person does that mean the show is promoting killing people?

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Oh so now we're suddenly concerned? But when it's boy over flower, no one cared. I didn't even see anything wrong with it until I came across these articles. And a lot of people seems to not know what the point of this drama is. Anyways, this kdrama is different and addictive.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

If you have problems with the show it's called the off switch. It cost nothing to use

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

It ' s really interesting drama and that actors act very natural and re doing a good job . It 's funny thinking about se*ual harassing . They are actors and it s series/ drama . Main actor acted in really rude movie and was fine but now big scandal because that scene . It's a part of story and get personality for main characters to showing all story and problems people with mental disorder . That makes soo good that drama . ehh If that people aren't ready to watching that because main character is rude or something else hmm it's not drama for him , maybe not that age or isn't enough adult . I recommend choice other drama because re many options .

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Nothing wrong with it. It's the writer's job to flesh out a character complete with her flaws. It's the character's flaws that make them more interesting and even relatable. These criticisms get in the way of good storytelling. How come Light Yagami or Walter White didn't get the same complaints from their bad actions? Bec their flaws make the story good. Same in this case.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

I think they are just jealous of how good this K-drama is...

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

" There are a lot of rape scenes in some movies but people don't bark about it. This is an important detail about a person with mental disorder. Srsly! Haters, if you can't take dark side of the story, this drama isn't for you." cre: Comment by someone... I love you so much. I totally agree with you

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

When a main lead forcefully pulls, kisses and hugs the female lead did it not accur to these people that it is s*xual harassment too? Pretty much every drama ever made will have this kinda scene. Should I mention the dramas as well? Stop making a big fuss out just nothing. Even If people are going to be critical they shouldn't at least be biased!!

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

How many K-dramas have I seen, that manage to work a serial killer into the story line? A lot. Seems to be accepted, no complaints. An adult woman puts her hand on a man's chest...and some body gets their panties in a bunch. She did that to sting the other female lead, who just entered scene. Get your priorities in a line, please.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Lol. They're so narrow minded. They need to grow up.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

so funny this is.scripted!! this is only a drama! seriously?? u all ill ???

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

this is just a damn drama yall need to chill it's not even real

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Lol, it's a damn drama talking about mental health which is a sensitive issue if you want brainless shit, go watch a rom-com with your usual tropes.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

I totally agree with you and I love that scene

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Bargaing into someone's personal space and touching their body is inappropriate and se*ual harassment. Get real about that. However, this is a drama trying to show a character motivations and behavior, so it's a different thing from condoning such behavior. But this scene failed because of this mixed message... It tried to both show the in-appropriateness of her behavior while giving a lot of time to ksh and, which substituted for the traditional shower scene. If they wanted to show this action as character information, they didn't have to even show his abs at all, just his reaction. I just think that it was a badly done scene, and the fanservice kind of made it feel messed up.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

There are a lot of rape scenes in some movies but people don't bark about it. This is an important detail about a person with mental disorder. Srsly! Haters, if you can't take dark side of the story, this drama isn't for you.

anonymous 2 weeks ago

there's a lot of drama include s**ual harrasment, if this scene u define as se*ual harrasment, idk what people thinking, just enjoy drama you lame

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Her touching him without consent IS s**ual harassment, but remember; she has mental issues! She even tried to murder two other people, that's attempted murder. Her pushing the guy down the stairs is assault. If you don't understand that it's part of the story and it is about how people with mental issues react differently from people who have no mental issues, then you need to get out more because you're living under a rock.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Now here they are ... criticizing another awesome drama. At first it was backstreet rookie and now this. Why cant people just accept the way it is rather than digging each and everything. Its just a drama folks!

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Why there are people that’s shallow and love criticizing.l.?As if the show did something that so serious , why not just enjoy the show as the scene is also a part of the story. In fact it’s only a spice. It’s up to the viewers on how they will interpret it.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

The real problem is that we also try to hide from a discussions about mental illness. Mental illness takes many forms and impair one's judgment. I watched the series and did not arrive at the conclusion as most. It shread light on a taboo subject. I loved it, cannot wait for next episode. Really interested in how they will help each other over come their issues.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

yah this is exactly what i was thinking...... If girls do then obsession/bold but if boys do harrasment/molestation This is how our society works so stop complaining n enjoy the show

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

the female lead suffers from anti-social personality disorder.. go and google about it... people having aspd dont understand personal space or consent... in the drama its made clear that he is just an object of affection for her.. she finds him pretty and she wants him.. for her its as simple as that.. she will stop at nothing till she gets what she wants..

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

it shows whats her disorder in the episode everything that she want.she has to get it no matter what it takes...so if your suffering with that its ok to file harassment on you

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Are these people out of their mind or something??? “S**ual Harassing”? Do u even know what that is??? You guys just love criticizing random stuffs to waste your time. Time is very valuable, waste it on learning something, not criticizing. It’s not like the male lead started having nightmares just because the female lead put her hands on his chest. I don’t get why this is se*ual harassing. How rude.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Thats the point of the drama. The characters are acting BOLD because of their mental issues.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Criticism seems to be the new trend now.....I guess some peoples are bored and stressed.....corona#

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Height of nonsense...Seems like people's new found love is criticism

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Why are ya'll getting so worked up just because of that scene? IOTNBO does not deserve all of your harsh comments. And if you don't have anything nice to say can you just zip your mouths and don't watch the show? Like duh

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Its just the same how sone kids feel when some strangers suddenly reached for their cheeks or anywhere else .people think its a joke but in reality its not

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Being in the west I might be biased I admit that, that being said it is a tvN program and anyone (international or local) who watches kdramas for as many years as I have who know that their programs are known to show a little more skin, kissing, and physical interaction between actors. But that's just my opinion.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

So it would be okay to portray adulterous scenes all through out a drama rather than portaying characters that are mentally challenged. I sometimes don't unaderstand SK... I mean... it is part of the plot... #doublestandards

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Woh korean viewers are somewhat ... I'dont know but I think they take dramas too seriously ...imean it's a story ....not a reality and how they are showing it ...it's totally going along with the characters of both leads....but no netizens wants to destroy the fun of dramas ...why? Coz they don't have to do anything ...they didn't achieved anything on their life ....so they are destroying others by criticism ....they did same with TKEM .....then backstreet rookie ....and now iontbo .....woh change your mentality guys such awesome dramas are going on nowadays ....I don't think you all are living in some historical time period .... isn't it ....we the worldwide kdrams fans are loving them ....but no their own home country is criticising .....it's still such a shame for South Korean viewers which are raising questions against these dramas over little things ..

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Lol, it's because TKEM is nothing but a overhyped drama full with product endorsement and pretty faced actors. The story is trash.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

tkem was just hype and no content.. it had neither good acting nor good storyline.. BR is slowing seeing rise in trps and is not getting that much backlash from sk as international fans.. koreans dont find the dreadlocks guy racist and have moved on from the kiss.. koreans dont like talking abt mental health o obviously iontbo is not accepted.. but this one is definitely way better than tkem..

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

I think people are over reacting. I really enjoy the show and look forward to the next episode. How come no one talk about Kim soo hyne get slap? Can’t believed people complains about sexual harassment! Get real people. We are not here to judge.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

i thought Korean rep is a modern country...old values n culture are still intact..no wonder kissing scene is only allowed.good for us... it's not only backstreet rookie they are criticizing..hopefully (all) drama series.so better watch out all incoming movies n series...conservative people are watching on this mellinial age...

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

I completely understand that everyone is entitled to their opinions about the show but when does acting or stories be given harsh critiscim. Why can't we understand that its a story. I mean come on are we truly going to end up watching PG shows. I mean people are getting upset about touching. Well what about shows that are sensualize. There's plenty of movies or series that I can think of but a scene that flows with the story we cant appreciate. Whoever watching it is responsible for their own actions in life but to criticize every little nook then ..Change the chanel no one is telling you to watch them. Actors and actress and the whole production works hard to entertain us but yet the are judged. Sheesh, its 2020 open your minds but then i'll end it here.. Im talking about this because it relieves me stress that you cant please everyone but do change the shoe if you dont like it.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

If you find it offensive, just grab the remote control and click it to a different channel. Simple. Let the others enjoy the show. No one is forcing you to watched.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

I like the story (it’s Okay of not be okay) casts are amazing but I hope this KDrama should not forget there are young viewers.Sex imagination/fantasy are running in the minds of the viewers :( scripts should be reviewed.Thank you .

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

uhm no it shouldnt the parents should be looking out for what their kids are watching The script writers are targeting it for a certain audience

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Yeah went too far (It’s Okay Of not to be Okay) not good for the young viewers.So many scenes they’re staring to each other “sex fantasy” running in the minds of the viewers .Although all casts are amazing!

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

ok its not good for young viewers, then they shoudlnt be watching it period

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

I dont care what you guys say. I like this drama. If you guys are offended over that one scene then dont watch it. It's just acting.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

When the dog barks at nothing we say leave it. You that put names to anything regardless of how important it is to the show. LEAVE IT Love the drama and looking forward to what happens next.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

You probably havent watched the drama yet. The girl did things way worse than this, and yall complain her touching his abs?? like WATCH THE WHOLE THING

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Yess exactly...she even tried to murder 2 people in the first two episodes (the father of that little girl and that annoying perv author)...how can people be so ignorant towards her mental condition..then is murdering people normal according to their logic

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Come on really, this is just a TV show. So far, it's very well written and sheds light on mental illness, childhood abuse, and how people truly never take the time to know each other. Guys, mentally ill people flash others and touch others without concerns for s**ual harassment, are you people serious? The lead actress is amazing. This show is really blowing me away so far.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

And what's wrong with some korean's it like they must find something wrong with any new drama they just can't let it pass

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

i really cant understand how that is sexual harassment . Whoever started this may i ask you, are you even hearing yourself ??? . I think its really sexy ahh i cant just stop thinking about the seen. FYI i have not seen the drama because i am waiting for it to release and those short clips are really invoking my curiosity

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

I don't know why people are associating this scene with se*ual harassment. I don't feel this scene is related to se*ual harassment. In most of the kdramas we can see that male lead sometimes forces female lead to kiss or hug them. Then those things should also be pointed out. And here the female lead is suffering from ASPD which means that she don't care about others emotions or feeling and she does whatever she wants and for her there is no wrong. And personally I love this drama which for me is one of the best kdrama I have ever watched.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

To those viewers who think those scenes were inappropriate, I don’t care who you are or what you are aiming for, I’m not gonna bust over your complaints and instead I will support this drama till the very end just like how I supported it at the very beginning. This drama deserves proper praising for all the touching messages that they have portrayed for the viewers and for me I think that is more important than anything else.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

I totally agree with you. I also don't understand why people criticize for one small detail. It is also a factor in the movie. Too bad and strict

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Well its not right to say it as sexual harassment the show has just started and i don't find any scene that is shown in drama is wrong so please stop spreading hatred.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

As usual, people are just finding everything offensive which is getting really annoying. Why can't we just enjoy this new K Drama series which is very promising and with a not so ordinary story line. I agree with the previous comment about kiss stealing scenes in other K dramas which weren't seen as se*ual harassment, but barely touching KT' s abs without his consent is? Annoying, seriously people.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

i agree with u why can't they just enjoy this beautiful story, they are just annoying.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

people with mental conditions do make others uncomfortable and thats what they want to show..

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Pls don’t drag other dramas here, IOTNBO ep 3, especially the guy with the acute manic disorder, his scenes were triggering, even for me. Yes people take dramas seriously too, but remember, the drama you are subtly addressing here also went through the same turmoil. Best of luck to IOTNBO tho, it’s overall a nice drama and a good watch:))

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Okay if it is called " sexual harassment" then there are so many drama where 1st kiss between actor/actress is without any of ones permission. Then why we not pointed out that as a sexual harassment? Please guys chill. This is an excellent drama let's enjoy. Peace ✌️ #It'sOkayNotToBeOkay

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

True that!! If that was the case no k-dramas would have been left.

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Ya true I agree with u

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Ikr!! Theses ppl just find everything annoying.... just chill and enjoy the drama guys

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

Actually, I find very sexy, but I am living in the west. It's my best best! Arrrg

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

I don't believe that there was anything wrong. If anything, this is a real depiction of what a person with ASPD may expereince. A person with ASPD has trouble distinguishing between right & wrong, most often doing and saying things that are considered inappropriate and offensive to others. Sometimes their actions come as far as committing serious illegal actions. I, personally, am enjoying this drama and truly appreciating the insight they are giving on what it's like to live with a mental disorder, whether it's yourself or a loved one. I say, keep doing what you are doing. I am 100% supporter of #It'sOkayNotToBeOkay

Anonymous 2 weeks ago

I totally agree with you

Pinkvilla has updated its Privacy and Cookie policy. We use cookies to improve your experience on our site and show you Personalized advertisement.

Options

Pinkvilla has updated its Privacy and Cookie policy. We use cookies to improve your experience on our site and show you Personalized advertisement